Organizational Structure

Learning is global… and so should leadership!

This unique non-profit community is lead by end user and vendors volunteers.

Each year, open elections are held for leadership seats for the global and locale specific communities.

A4L Board of Directors

Steve Curtis

Ben Silberglitt


Steve Smith

Cambridge Public Schools

The A4L Board of Directors also includes:

Director Emeritus: Tim Magner

Director Emeritus: Patrick Plant

Australian (AU) Community

AU A4L Community members elect officials every year for terms on the AU Management Board, as well as the AU Technical Board.  Elected AU Management Board members serve a two-year term.  Elected AU Technical Board Members each serve a one year term.

AU Management Bord (SIFAAMB)

Michael Haigh

National Catholic Education Commission (NCEC)

Paul Queeney

Association of Independent Schools NSW

Nimit Rawal

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

Barry Wallett

Independent Schools Council of Australia (ISCA)

Kiki Tanousis

Semaphore Consulting Group

Antony Mawer

Sentral Education

AU Technical Board (DSWG)

ACT Education Directorate:

Greg Shuhardt

Bill Williamson

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA):

Damien Bradburn

Karen Henry

Rajesh Kandpal

Navneet Kumar

Australian Government Department of Education, Skills & Employment (DESE): 

Dennis Beissner

Jade Carson

John Koulouris

Catholic Education Office – Melbourne:

Michael Fenton

Chandika Gunawardana

ACT Education Directorate:

Michael Cheung

Anthony Yip

Department of Education & Childrens Services, SA:

Zac Anstee

Department of Education & Training (VIC): 

Robert Clissold

Michael Curtin

Ray Farrugia

Russell Gill

O Myung Kwon

Damian Vujicic

Debra Webster

Department of Education & Training (Queensland): 

Martin Banks

Paul Canavan

Department of Education (Northern Territory Government): 

Tim Egan

Department of Education, Tasmania: 

Stephen Brain

Trevor Hill

Education Services Australia (ESA): 

Ben Chadwick

Stuart Mitchell

Independent Schools Council of Australia (ISCA): 

Maurice Cummins

Ian Quartermaine

NSW Department of Education: 

Gonzalo Chasling

Nilani Eugnan

Vincent Lui

Sandra Scenna

Darryn Van Tonder

Vendor Members:

James Hamilton, Sentral Education

Joerg Huber, Systemic Pty Ltd

David Jones, Sempahore Consulting

Mark Vanderkley, SIMON Schools

North American (NA) Community

NA A4L Community members elect officials every year for terms on the NA Management Board of Directors.  The NA Technical Board is comprised of the Lead of each Working Group and Task Force, as well as up to four At-Large members, elected by the membership.  The NA Technical Board Members each serve a one year term.

NA Management Board

Jennifer Sauro, Infinite Campus

Michelle Elia, CPSI, Ltd.

Ray Girdler, Arkansas Department of Education

Jim McGlynn, Public Consulting Group

Allen Miedema, Northshore School District 

Jay Pennington, Iowa Department of Education

Doug Quinton, PowerSchool

Ben Silberglitt, CedarLabs

Jeff Simons, WSIPC

NA Technical Board

Alex Jackl, Bardic Systems

Eric Levy, Cambridge Public Schools

Roger Petersen, Iowa Department of Education

NA Management Board also includes:

CEDS (Common Education Data Standard) Liaison: Ross Santy, NCES

Emeritus: Patrick Plant; George Gatsis

SDPC Management Board Representative: Steve Smith, Cambridge Public Schools

United Kingdom (UK) Community

A4L Community Members elect officials every year for a two-year term on the UK Management Board, and for a one-year term on the UK Technical Board. The UK Technical Board is comprised of up to six members elected by the membership (one year term), the Chair of each Functional Group and/or Task Force, and up to four Appointed Representatives (non-voting).

Student Data Privacy Consortium (SDPC) Management Board

Andy Bloom


Libbi Garrett

California IT in Education (CITE)

Ramah Hawley

The Education Co-operative (TEC)

Tom Ingram

Escambia County School District

Josh Olstad

New Hampshire CTO Council

Steve Setzer

Loop Data

Jim Siegl

Future of Privacy Forum

Ben Silberglitt


Steve Smith

Cambridge Public Schools

Appointed Board Members (1yr term):

Anthony Yaremenko

National Schools Interoperability Program (NSIP), Australia


John Lovell

Technology Director

Provides technical leadership and as the primary resource for all things technical – from internal IT support to driving the global community efforts  statewide, nationally and internationally focused on both technical specification development and privacy support.

Penny Murray

Community Director

Provides leadership and ownership over providing “value-add” for members and potential members of the Association. This position gauges all aspects of member services including communications, marketing, support member working activities, organizational meetings and strategic partnerships to ensure initiative success.

Larry Fruth II, PhD

Executive Director/CEO

Provides direction and leadership toward the achievement of the organization´s philosophy, mission, strategy, and its annual goals and objectives. Support includes; Board Administration and Support, Program and Service Delivery, Financial and Human Resource Management, Community Relations and Fundraising.